3 New NCIP commissioners, 11 others take oath of office


Manila, Apr. 9 – Three new commissioners and 11 other officials of the National Commission on Indigenous Peoples (NCIP) yesterday took their oaths to officially begin their service in the IP body.

Secretary Teresita Quintos Deles, Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process and designated by President Benigno Aquino III as cabinet official oversight for NCIP, administered the oaths of Commissioners Percy A. Brawner, Conchita C. Calzado and Datu Cosme M. Lambayon, all veteran peace and IP rights advocates.

New Commissioners Brawner will represent Region II, Calzado for Region III and the rest of Luzon, and Lambayon for Region III andand, Northern and Western Mindanao.

The ceremony was held at the OPAPP headquarters in Pasig.

The peace adviser also administered the oath-taking of other new NCIP officials including Acting Executive Director Basilio Wandag; Bureau Directors Masli A. Quilaman and Jonathan D. Adaci; and Regional Directors Sancho S. Buquing for Region 1, Ruben S. Bastero for Region 2, Roberto L. Almonte for Region 4, Pinky Grace P. Pabelic for Region 10, Woy Lim P. Wong for Region 12 and Dominador M. Gomez for Region 13/ CARAGA.

Present to witness the event were former Ambassador Howard Dee with daughter-in-law Ms. Viel Aquino-Dee, the President's sister, and Ifugao Rep. Teodoro Baguilat.

In November last year, the Presidet appointed his first two NCIP commissioners Zenaida Brigida “Manang Brigs” Hamada-Pawid and Dionesia Banua who were also sworn into office by Deles.

Pawid is representing the IPs of Region I and the Cordilleras, while Banua is serving on behalf of the island groups including Mindoro, Palawan, Romblon, Panay and the rest of Visayas.

NCIP, by virtue of Republic Act No. 8371 or the Indigenous Peoples Rights Act (IPRA), was created as an independent agency under OP to formulate and implement policies, plans and programs to promote and protect the rights and well-being of IP communities and recognize their ancestral domain.#